Partners Councils are dynamic working groups that co-create data-informed solutions to attract, support and keep great principals.


The Partnership’s first Partners Council is developing a citywide strategy for the principal talent pipeline to attract, train and place strong leaders in Chicago’s public schools.


Average number of schools that start each school year with a new principal. 


Approximate number of eligible, aspiring principals in the candidate pool at any given time. 


Average number of years it takes for a school to recover from the impact of a principal transition. 

Principal hiring in Chicago involves multiple stakeholders and takes on many forms.*



Multiple routes to the principalship exist; most aspiring school leaders begin their careers as teachers.


*Data from the 2015 – 16 school year.


The Pipeline Partners Council convenes leaders from Chicago Public Schools, principal training programs, and renowned principal preparation experts to evaluate and strengthen the current state of principal preparation and placement.


Meet the Pipeline Partners Council:


Zipporah Hightower (Chair) – Executive Director of Principal Quality, Chicago Public Schools (CPS)

Anna Alvarado – Deputy Chief Officer Office of Teaching and Learning, CPS

Heather Anichini – President & CEO, The Chicago Public Education Fund

Peter Auffant – Principal, Mather High School

Lindsey Ciochina – Vice-President, Teach for America Chicago-Northwest Indiana

Ana Espinoza – Former Principal and Latino Advisory Council member

Harrington Gibson – Associate Professor, National Louis University

Ana Gil Garcia – Professor, Northeastern Illinois University

Molly Gordon – Research Scientist, University of Chicago Consortium on School Research

Chip Johnson – Chief Officer, Family and Community Engagement in Education (FACE2), CPS

Randel Josserand – Chief of Schools, Network 3, CPS

Matt Lyons – Chief of Talent, CPS

Lakita McKinney – Senior Director, New Leaders

Barbara Rieckhoff – Associate Professor, DePaul University

Felicia Stewart – Coordinator of Coaches (Principal Preparation Program), Loyola University

Beth Swanson – Vice President, The Joyce Foundation

Steve Tozer – Professor, University of Illinois at Chicago